Archive for the ‘education’ Category

December 2013 Sake Tasting

Tuesday, December 3rd, 2013

Our 6th year anniversary celebration kicks off our schedule of tastings for the festive holiday season…

Friday, December 6, 2013, 6-8pm

SAKAYA Anniversary Tastings

Kokuryu “Ryu” Daiginjo, Kirinzan Junmai Daiginjo, Taiheizan Junmai Daiginjo, Oze no Yukidoke Junmai Daiginjo


Saturday, December 7, 2013, 5-7pm

SAKAYA Anniversary Tastings

Kubota Manju Junmai Daiginjo, Kotsuzumi “Rojo Hana Ari” Junmai Daiginjo, Wataribune Junmai Daiginjo, Born Muroka Nama Genshu Junmai Daiginjo


Friday, December 13, 2013, 6-8pm

Dewazakura Daiginjo Tasting


Saturday, December 14, 2013, 5-7pm

Special New Dassai Sake Tasting


Saturday, December 21, 2013, 5-7pm

Tsukasa Botan Fu-In Junmai Ginjo Tasting


Friday, December 27, 2013, 6-8pm

Nanbu Bijin Tokubetsu Junmai Namazake Tasting

Happy Sake Holidays!

Rick & Hiroko



September 2013 Sake Tastings

Friday, September 6th, 2013

Goodbye to summer!  But along with the coming of fall is The Joy of Sake on September 26!  And, of course, a new slate of great fall sake tastings….


Saturday, September 7, 2013, 5-7pm

Aramasa Rokugo Tokubetsu Junmai Tasting (Akita)


Friday, September 13, 2013, 6-8pm

Hanaabi Junmai Daiginjo Tasting (Saitama)


Saturday, September 21, 2013, 5-7pm

Fuku Chitose Junmai Yamahai Tasting (Fukui)


June 2013 Sake Tastings

Monday, June 3rd, 2013

It’s the rainy season in Japan and it seems as though the weather gods are treating us likewise.  So join us for our tastings this month and do as the Japanese do this time of year…drink sake!

Saturday, June 1, 2013, 5-7pm

Naraman Origarami Junmai Nama Tasting (Fukushima)

Saturday, June 8, 2013, 5-7pm

Kokuryu “Gohyaku Mangoku” Junmai Ginjo Tasting (Fukui)

Saturday, June 15, 2013, 5-7pm

Hakkaisan Brewery Tasting (Niigata)

Hakkaisan Junmai Ginjo & Hakkaisan Ginjo

Saturday, June 22, 2013, 5-7pm

Kenbishi “Kuromatsu” Honjozo Tasting (Hyogo)

Saturday, June 29, 2013, 5-7pm

Shichihonyari Junmai Tasting (Shiga)

April 2013 Sake Tastings

Friday, April 5th, 2013

Freshly brewed Namazake is making its way to NYC and we’re delighted to offer them at our tastings this month after the initial sampling of a storied “sake survivor” of the 3/11/11 earthquake and tsunami.

Saturday, April 6, 2013, 5-7pm

Hakurakusei Tokubetsu Junmai Tasting (Miyagi)

Saturday, April 13, 2013, 5-7pm

Denshin Haru Namazake Tasting (Fukui)

Friday, April 19, 2013, 6-8pm

Masumi Arabashiri Namazake Tasting (Nagano)

Saturday, April 27, 2013, 5-7pm

Naraman Origarami Namazake Tasting (Fukushima)

December 2012 Sake Tastings

Wednesday, December 12th, 2012

This month we celebrated our 5th Anniversary and have a full schedule of tastings to heighten holiday spirits and inspire gift ideas…

Saturday, December 1, 2012, 5-7pm

Denshin Yuki Junmai Ginjo Tasting (Fukui)

Friday, December 7, 2012, 6-8pm

SAKAYA 5th Anniversary Party

Saturday, December 8, 2012, 5-7pm

SAKAYA 5th Anniversary Party

Friday, December 14, 2012, 6-8pm

Nishiyama Brewery Sake Tasting

Saturday, December 22, 2012, 5-7pm

Tenryo Hida Homare Junmai Ginjo Tasting

Saturday, December 29m, 2012, 5-7pm

Jokigen Junmai Ginjo Sake Tasting

October 2012 Sake Tastings

Monday, October 8th, 2012

Our October tasting schedule includes special celebrations of Sake Day and the 40th anniversary of Kikusui Funaguchi, plus the launch of a new importer’s junmai yamahai muroka nama genshu, as well as an extremely dry brew from Yamagata, and an easy drinking sake from Niigata.

Monday, October 1, 2012, 5:30-8pm

Sake Day Tasting

Fukucho Junmai Ginjo (Hiroshima), Sato no Homare Junmai Ginjo (Ibaraki), Rihaku Junmai Ginjo (Shimane), and Chiyo no Sono Junmai (Kumamoto)

Thursday, October 4, 2012 6-8pm & Saturday, October 6, 2012, 5-7pm

Floating World Importer Tasting

Kidoizumi Hakugyokko Junmai Yamahai Muroka Nama Genshu (Chiba)

Saturday, October 13, 2012, 5-7pm

Toyo Bijin Junmai Ginjo (Yamaguchi)

Friday, October 19, 2012, 6-8pm

Kikusui Funaguchi 40-year Anniversary Tasting

Saturday, October 27, 2012, 5-7pm

Denemon Junmai Ginjo (Niigata)

September 2012 Sake Tastings

Monday, September 10th, 2012

To celebrate the upcoming Joy of Sake in NYC, we’ll be offering a series of tastings during the months of September and October featuring Gold and Silver Award winners from the U.S. National Sake Appraisal which took place in Honolulu in late July (Hiroko was one of the nine judges). The Appraisal of 360 sake serves as the basis for the Joy of Sake events in Honolulu, New York, and Tokyo at which the public can enjoy sampling the winners as well as a host of other amazing sake, many of which are not available in the U.S.

We look forward to seeing you at one or all!

Tuesday, September 4, 2012, 6-8pm
Ryujin Brewery Sake Tasting (Gunma)
Oze no Yukidoke Junmai & Junami Daiginjo

Saturday, September 8, 2012, 5-7pm
Yuki no Bosha Yamahai Junmai (Akita)

Saturday, September 15, 2012, 5-7pm
Ura Gasanryu Koka Honjozo (Yamagata)

Saturday, September 22, 2012, 5-7pm
Dewazakura Dewasansan Junmai Ginjo (Yamagata)

Saturday, September 29, 2012, 5-7pm

Shichida Junmai (Saga)

August 2012 Sake Tastings

Thursday, August 2nd, 2012

The proverbial “dog days of summer” have arrived and with them some delicious seasonal produce to enjoy (fresh corn and tomatoes come immediately to mind).  Our line up of tastings this month feature sake that are ably suited to pair with them and/or to refresh the palate and quench the thirst on sultry evenings.

We look forward to seeing you at one or all!


Rick & Hiroko

Thursday, August 2, 2012, 6-8pm

Zaku Junmai Tasting

Thursday, August 9, 2012, 6-8pm

Yuki no Bosha Junmai Ginjo Tasting

Saturday, August 18, 2012, 5-7pm

Tatenokawa 33 Junmai Daiginjo Tasting

Saturday, August 25, 2012, 5-7pm

Goriki Junmai Ginjo Tasting

Thursday, August 30, 2012, 6-8pm

Kudoki Jozu Junmai Ginjo Tasting

SAKAYA July Sake Tastings

Monday, July 9th, 2012

The Summer Nama have arrived!  We’ll be featuring them along with the brewer from Tedorigawa and a great summer sippin’ sake from Gunma in our July tastings.   Please join us for one or all!

Saturday, July 7, 2012, 5-7pm

Tsuki no Katsura Junmai Ginjo Nama (Kyoto) & Ohyama Tokubetsu Junmai Nama (Yamagata)


Thrusday, July 12, 2012, 6-8pm

Senchu Hassaku Junmai Nama (Kochi) & Ohyama Tokubetsu Junmai Nama (Yamagata)

Saturday, July 14, 2012, 5-7pm

Tedorigawa Brewery Tasting

Saturday, July 28, 2012, 5-7pm

Mizbasho Ginjo Tasting (Gunma)

May 2012 Sake Tastings

Saturday, May 5th, 2012

May is exciting month.  The long-awaited,  peach yeast-flavored spring namazake, Kamikokoro Tokagen has finally arrived and Mr. Saura,  president of Miyagi’s famous Urakasumi brewery and  “Book of Sake”  author and Kinoshita brewery’s  toji (master brewer) Philip Harper will be joining us for tastings!  We’ll also introduce our two newest sake, Kuroushi Junmai and Tatenokawa 33 Junmai Daiginjo.

Saturday, May 5, 2012, 5-7pm

Kamikokoro Tokagen Namazake Tasting (Okayama)

Thursday, May 10, 2012, 6-8pm

Tamagawa Brewery’s Sake Tasting by Philip Harper (Kyoto)

Friday, May 11, 2012, 6-8pm

Urakasumi Brewery Sake Tasting (Miyagi)

Saturday, May 12, 2012, 5-7pm

Kotsuzumi Tokubetsu Junmai Namazake Tasting (Hyogo)

Saturday, May 19, 2012, 5-7pm

Tate no Kawa 33 Junmai Daiginjo Tasting (Yamagata)

Saturday, May 26, 2012, 5-7pm

Kuro Ushi Junmai Sake Tasting (Wakayama)